Are you seeking God or just His plan?




“You have no business to find out where God is leading, the only thing God will explain to you is Himself.” (Oswald Chambers)


Jesus said, “Follow Me….and I will make you fishers of men.”  The directive is “follow Me” (a Person), and the derivative is “and I will make you…”  Our attention is to be the pursuit of Christ.  This is my primary business!  God, then, in His time will produce the ministry through us.

Jesus said, “Come unto Me…and I will give you rest…”  The directive is “come to Me”.  The derivative is “and I will give you…”  So why do we reverse the order?  We are so focused on the “what” that we miss the “Who”! 

The Lord really made this clear through Jeremiah.  This is an often quoted passage, but the deepest implication is often missed:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope… (Jer 29:11)

Be careful to note that this is the derivative!  He speaks here of his “good” plan for us.  Everybody wants to know this! “God I just need to know what your will is for my life!”  But it often seems so elusive.  Here’s a hint: read the next sentence!  God wasn’t done talking to you yet!

“Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.  I will be found by you,” declares the Lord…(Jer 29:12-14)

Okay.  So do you see it?  The next sentence gives us the directive!  God says, “I know the plans I have for you..”  (He’s not saying that you know them or that you need to seek them!)  Then He gives us the directive:  “So seek Me with all your heart!”  We need to pursue the Lover of our souls!  We need to go after our heavenly Father.  We need to seek the Lord Himself!

He promises that He will let us find Him if we will truly look for Him!  But He does not promise to reveal Himself to those who primarily seek His plan and not His face!  Again, I think Oswald Chambers nails it:

  “You have no business to find out where God is leading, the only thing God will explain to you is Himself.” 

Once you’ve encountered Him and start being conformed to His character and image, the work will appear.  The fruit will come to those who are abiding in Christ.  So make Him your holy pursuit.  Christ is the goal of the Law and the object of our faith! 

3 thoughts on “Are you seeking God or just His plan?

  1. Daniel Lunsford says:

    Great post! I think it’s also valuable to notice that verse 10 starts off saying “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise…” While I do believe that God has plans for all men (to bring glory to Himself), I usually hesitate to use this verse to comfort someone when they are going through a trial. The “plans” He has in store could be a terminal illness, loss of job, death, or a 70-year exile! In these situations, I find that Romans 8:28 expresses this truth of God’s plans in proper context (And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose).I think you’re 100% correct when you state that the primary task of the Christian is to recklessly seek God. I think it’s the difference between (a)asking where God wants you to drive or (b) letting Him take the driver’s seat. True submission exists when I don’t need to know what the “end state” is. It’s recognizing that God doesn’t need to inform me about how He intends to use me. As always, thanks for the post! I enjoy reading them whenever you get a chance to write!

  2. Dane says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, Daniel. And thanks for the further insight. We are often not so ready to embrace God’s will when it involves hard things! All the more reason to seek Him first. If we’ve got Him, then we’ve got a Friend in the fire, a help in the Lion’s den!

Leave a Reply

