Can you say your spiritual A,B,C’s?

The Bible says that, “the word of God is living and powerful, sharper than any two-edged sword.” (Heb 4:12)

The Greek word for “two-edged” very literally means “a river with two mouths”.  This Greek word appears three times in the New Testament, once in the verse above and then two times in the Book of Revelation (where both times it refers to the word coming out of the mouth of Jesus Christ.)

The implication is obvious.  God’s word coming out of His mouth is powerful.  But a corresponding truth is also powerful!  The Spirit-directed word of God, coming out of the mouth of a believers is also a powerful force!  God is pleased to release great power through the confession and declaration of His holy word!  

Consider this, that the Bible says (in multiple places) that those who “call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.”  Just the calling on the actual name of the Lord, Jesus Christ, has the power to loose the life-transforming power of God’s salvation.  Paul said, “I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God unto salvation for those who believe.” (Rom 1:16)  Again, Paul says, “If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.” (Romans 10:8)

There is power in confessing and declaring the authoritative word of God.

Here’s a cool way I’ve learned to start confessing God’s word.  Create your own list of spiritual “A,B,C’s”.  You can use a Biblical concordance and just go down through the alphabet and pick out verses that seem to be especially applicable to you in your present walk.  Make a list of these verses with key words in alphabetical order.  Then pull the list up on your PDA or out of your pocket while on coffee-break and confess the word!  You can use this list during your prayer times as well.  Just say/pray the word of God back to Him.  You will find that when you say what God says that you are connecting to something very powerful.  You are now wielding the Sword of the Spirit!

I confidently confess that:

A  I am accepted in the Beloved (Eph 1:6)
B  I have boldness to enter God’s manifest presence by the blood of Jesus. (Heb 10:19)
C  I was chosen in Him before the foundation of the world. (Eph 1:4)
D  I am a partaker of the divine nature. (2 Pet 1:4)
E  I earnestly desire spiritual gifts, especially that I may prophesy. (1 Cor 14:1)
F  When I confess my sins He is faithful and just to forgive my sins. (1 John 1:9)
G   Surely goodness and mercy follow me all the days of my life. (Ps 23:6)
H   When I hunger and thirst after righteousness I am filled. (Matt 5:6)
I    I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. (Phil 4:13)
J   I am an heir of God and a joint-heir with Christ. (Romans 8:17)
K   He has made us kings and priests unto God. (Rev 1:6)
L   Lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the age. (Matt 28:20) 
M   I am more than a conqueror through Him who loved me. (Rom 8:37)
N   No weapon formed against me will prosper. (Isa 54:17)
O   I am a new creation in Christ; old things have passed away and new things have come. (2 Cor 5:17)
P   I am full of power by the Spirit of the Lord. (Mic 3:8)
Q   In repentance and rest is my salvation; in quietness and trust is my strength. (Isa 30:15)
R   The Lord rescues me from every evil deed and brings me safely to His kingdom. (2 Tim 4:18)
S   The God of peace will soon crush Satan underneath our feet. (Rom 16:20)
T   But thanks be to God who always leads me to triumph in Christ. (2 Cor 2:14)
U   I will no longer call unholy what God has made holy. (Acts 10:14)
V   I belong to the Good Shepherd and I know His voice. (John 10:4)
W   The weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but are might through God. (2 Cor 10:4)
X   He is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that I can ask…according to His power at work in me. (Eph 3:20)
Y   For His yoke is easy and His burden is light. (Matt 11:30)
Z   The zeal of the Lord shall accomplish it! (Isa 9:7)

Leave a Reply

