Wild, wonderful, West Virginia

Hannah jumps off the "High Falls of the Cheat River". (Yes, Molly was aware that we were all doing this.)

I am back from an amazing time of rest and reflection.

For those who didn’t know, I was on sabbatical leave for the month of July.  My family and I spent the time at a cabin in West Virginia.  Our time was divided between hiking, swimming, fishing, camping, and wildlife viewing…all as a family.  Additionally, I spent three half-days each week reviewing and reflecting upon the journals I have kept for the past 20 years.  It took the entire month, but I actually got through all the journals and made 100+ pages of notes highlighting things that I feel are worthy of remembrance and future reflection.

The looking back helped me see that there are some areas of conviction and calling that simply have never gone away.  The themes and priorities of prayer, worship, mission, and spiritual warfare continually surfaced year after year.

Over the next several posts I’d like to share some things from my journals.  Also, I will share some of the experiences we had in wild, wonderful, West Virginia.  Like jumping off the top of 20 ft waterfalls, watching American Bald Eagles catch fish, and getting lost in the Monongehela National Forest…

…more to come.

One thought on “Wild, wonderful, West Virginia

  1. David Wiseman says:

    Wow, sounds like a great time! I look forward to your thoughts from your coming blogs.
    I’ll email soon with my updates!

Leave a Reply

