In the coffee shop with the Dalai Lama

(if you’re just surfing the web and found this post, you’ll need to back up to the earlier post to find out how I actually ended up in a coffee shop alone with the Dalai Lama.  And no, I’m not making any of this up.)

So I here I was alone in an airport coffee shop with the Dalai Lama (and his body guard.)  Understandably, I was a bit stunned by all of this.  I was certainly aware that my steps were being directed by the Living God.  So I prayed, “Lord, what do you want me to do?  Do you have a message for me to give to this man?”  I just waited and listened.  But there was no sense of urgency in my spirit or direction from the Lord.  So I just sipped my coffee and sat quietly.

Then I began to sense the still small voice of God.  

It wasn’t an audible voice, but there was a real sense of God’s wisdom filling my mind.  It went something like this:

“I don’t need you to say anything to this man.  I am simply showing you that you indeed have My heart and My wisdom about the world events surrounding you.  I did not give that dream to the Asian pastor.  I was not telling him that I was going to place him in the room with the most powerful man in the West.  But I have been speaking to you about My mercy and My desire to continue to bless and use America.  And today I am showing you that I can place you in the presence of anyone in the world.  Today I have placed you in the presence of the most powerful religious leader of the East.”

And that was it.  I had this profound sense of worship and awe…not because of the presence of a famous religious man in the room, but because of the presence and glory of the Spirit of Jesus Christ in my life and in our world.  My steps are ordered by God.  As I follow Him and keep my heart open to Him I cannot fail.

The Dalai Lama didn’t know who I was.  And He certainly had no idea of meeting me.  But Jesus Christ knows who I am and showed me who I’d be seeing that day. I am quite sure I was God’s chosen man in that cafe on that afternoon in November, 2001.

It was such a profound sense of God’s care and providence that I experienced that day.

God is moving and working in our world powerfully today.  And He’s at work in American and in Asia and everywhere else where He’s placed His humble servants.  Yes, He’s there with you in the kitchen today, in the cubicle at work, in the classroom, on the bus, at Wal-Mart…

…But if you have jealousy, resentment, or selfish ambition ruling your life….you may never know it.

Leave a Reply

