All the rest is religious fraud?

Oswald Chambers has such a way with words!  He cuts right to the quick and leaves you dangling there, with no support but God Himself.

In the November 3rd reading from My Utmost For His Highest, Chambers is discussing the meaning of Galatians 2:20,

I have been crucified with Christ; nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me.

Chambers says that this verse speaks of a union with Christ that can never be experientially realized unless we are willing to seriously deal with our own selfish independence.  He says that surrendering my independence to the Lordship of Jesus is something that I must do; something that God will not and cannot do for me.  Chambers continues,

It means breaking the hard outer layer of my individual independence from God, and the liberating of myself and my nature into oneness with Him; not following my own ideas, but choosing absolute loyalty to Jesus.

A number of people through the years have told me that they often feel beaten up after reading Chambers.  I too have greatly felt challenged by Chambers, but not beaten up.  If the goal in my life is on par with Galatians 2:20, then I should be aiming for the, “but Christ liveth in me.”  Right?  I mean, this is the only way a renegade from God can end up bringing Him glory.  I must allow Him to invade my life and fill it with Himself.

But this doesn’t happen by osmosis.  And it doesn’t happen while I’m sleeping.  Or while I’m avoiding dealing with the hard reality that there’s something in me that doesn’t want to yield to anybody, let alone God. 

But if I will go all the way over and make a clean break with my individualism, then something wholly unknown to me can happen.  Chambers wonderfully describes this exchange in our reading:

Has that breaking of my independence come? All the rest is religious fraud. The one point to decide is— will I give up? Will I surrender to Jesus Christ, placing no conditions whatsoever as to how the brokenness will come? I must be broken from my own understanding of myself. When I reach that point, immediately the reality of the supernatural identification with Jesus Christ takes place. And the witness of the Spirit of God is unmistakable

Chambers, like the Apostle Paul, was not giving us a theological treatise on our “positional” identity in Christ in Galatians 2:20.  He was not just talking theology.  He was discussing the actual exchange of life essence and power that he had undergone upon deeply surrendering everything to Christ.  As soon as a person does this they have real and tangible access to the resurrection life of Christ.  It moves from the theoretical and objective, to the reality of an experiential union with Christ Himself.

Has the break come in your own life?  Have you signed away your own rights so as to become the life-slave of Christ?  The Spirit of God waits for the break to come.  When it does He will bring a union with Christ into your soul that you can never know outside of this surrender.

Leave a Reply

