When facing the enemy: Look Up! (part 2)

“Therefore do not fear them, for there is nothing concealed that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known.  What I tell you in the darkness, speak in the light; and what you hear whispered in your ear, proclaim upon the housetops.”  Matthew 9:26-27

In the last post I shared about the crisis I experienced in a jail ministry setting.  A crazy man was threatening to harm me.  I sent up an S.O.S. prayer to God.  And He answered by giving me immediate insight/revelation.  He said, “Bind the spirit of rebellion.”

All the other prisoners were watching and listening to me pray.  After the prophetic provision dropped into my spirit, I did exactly what the Father said to do.  I spoke out loud, “You spirit of rebellion, I bind your activity in this place and command you to be silent now, in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.”

I was not prepared for what happened next.

No sooner had the words left my mouth, than what seemed like an invisible hand from heaven closed the mouth of the angry man and he immediately walked to the far corner of the room and crawled up into a fetal position on the floor.  He was totally quiet. Actually, it’s like the mute button had been pushed.  Talk about causing some amazement in the room!  I was just as surprised as the other guys were!  It took a few seconds for me to process exactly what had just happened.  As it became clear I tried to interpret the events to the other men:

Guys, we have just seen a demonstration of the power and authority of Jesus Christ.  This man has been possessed by a demon.  And Jesus has given me authority to take charge over the evil spirit.  I think Jesus would have all of us realize that He is Lord of heaven and earth and we should turn way from all rebellion and submit to Him.”

Just a few minutes earlier we had all been doing a Bible study on the subject of the sin of rebellion. The demonized man had apparently been listening to our Bible study.  Talk about the Word of God stirring up a reaction!  By the way, later when the crazy man had returned to his own senses and was free from the demon’s grip, I asked him what his name was.  He replied, “Well, my given name is Ray, but everybody calls me Rebel.”  Wow.  Only God could have known all these things. 

The hour of trial became the hour of His power!  Oh glory to God.  Beloved, I have had these sort of experiences on many occasions through the years.  God is no respecter of persons.  His promise of prophetic provision is just as good to us as it was to the first disciples!  But we must also follow Him in obedience into the harvest fields!

(Some follow-up about the demonized man. I in no way share the story above to depersonalize the man who was afflicted by the evil spirit.  Later I was able to minister one-on-one with this man for a couple of weeks and pray with him. I learned some of his story. He actually had a grandfather that he had admired who had been a preacher.  He had a son who was in his twenties and living on the wrong side of the law.  He was concerned about him and asked me to try to find him. I did go to where the young man supposedly lived but no one appeared to be living in the house.  I don’t know if this man ever fully surrendered to Christ. He was processed on through the prison system and I never heard from him again. May God be glorified in this fellow’s life is still my prayer.)

In a future post I will relay one more example of God giving timely revelation in the hour of trial.

One thought on “When facing the enemy: Look Up! (part 2)

Leave a Reply

