The privilege and power of intercession

“O, let my hands forget their skill,
My tongue be silent, cold, and still,
This bounding heart forget to beat,
If I forget the mercy-seat!”

Spurgeon often quoted poems in his sermons. Sometimes without referencing the author. I’m not a Spurgeon expert – but this might mean that he wrote them.

Regardless, isn’t this a sweet thought about the mercy seat?  What a privilege we have in Christ to approach the very face of God and make our requests known. Spurgeon says we are never more like Christ than when we are praying for other’s needs and not our own.

2 thoughts on “The privilege and power of intercession

  1. David Wiseman says:

    Dane, it seems that the closer I get to God the more people He puts in my path that need prayer. Right now I have 7 people who either have cancer or diabetes. Nancy & I prayer time is increasing 10 fold! Also, I have had more “Divine Appoints.” I just had one today!
    When we bless others, we are blessed and God is blessed. What a wonderful God we serve!

Leave a Reply

